Quintessentially British Buttermilk Scones

Everyone seems to rave about using buttermilk in scones. I regularly bake scones; plain, fruity, sweet, savory, and so on. They are quintessentially British, and nothing seems better than a cream tea (check out my classic recipe here). When you become a regular scone baker (it’s not that hard – you’ll get addicted) you suddenly transform into a scone freak; I’m talking getting the perfect amount of raising agent, right amount of golden colouring, perfect combination of light yet somehow thick, creamy texture, with a sweet but not overwhelming flavour.
IMG_0284
IMG_0286
IMG_0288
IMG_0289
IMG_0290
But very rarely do I use buttermilk to achieve this. Mainly because I like my favourite recipes, so why branch out and use another, when I know I can rely on my trusty, classic, traditional, simple, sturdy, good ol’ scone recipe..? (here it is if you haven’t already found it 😉 )
IMG_0291
IMG_0292
IMG_0297
IMG_0298
I branched out. I did it. I went there. I was pleasantly surprised – these were super moist and super thick. Very different to my classic recipe, and I’m still not sure I prefer using buttermilk, I suppose it depends on preference (using buttermilk gives them a bit of a twang – a good twang – and also a rich density which doesn’t suit everyone).
IMG_0303
IMG_0302
IMG_0305
Of course I added strawberries at a last attempt to claim summer before it leaves us here in England. Not quite as fresh as in June/July, but still pretty scrummy! Especially with my homemade jam – Plum this time – new obsession along with the doughnut panJAM MAKING! Recipes (for the jams) are still being put together and tweaked, each batch seems to turn out slightly more runny or slightly more solid than the last, I’m slowly (very slowly) learning the art!
IMG_0304
IMG_0307
IMG_0309
Enjoy ❤
P.S. I can’t believe it’s September tomorrow…. where did the summer go?!
Buttermilk Scones (makes around 15)
450g self-raising flour
2 tsp baking powder
75g unsalted butter, cubed
75g caster sugar
100g sultanas/raspberries/strawberries etc
2 eggs, beaten
1x 200ml buttermilk (or 200ml milk & 1tbsp lemon juice)
1. Preheat the oven to 200 degrees and lightly grease your baking trays
2. Mix the flour and baking powder, then rub (using your fingertips) the butter in, until it resembles fine breadcrumbs
3. Stir in the sugar and any fruit you wish to add. Mix the eggs and buttermilk together in a jug and pour into the breadcrumb mixture (saving a little for later)
4. Turn the dough out onto a lightly floured surface, lightly kneading for 1 minute until it gathers together
5. Roll and pat out, cutting as many rounds as possible from the first rolling (I used a 2 inch cutter) Keep rolling out until you have used up all the dough
6. Brush the tops of the scones with the reserved egg and bake for around 10 minutes or until golden
7. Remove and cool on a wire rack – serve with clotted cream and jam, with a cup of Yorkshire tea!

6 thoughts on “Quintessentially British Buttermilk Scones

  1. vannillarock says:

    These look yummy. glad you have tried buttermilk- it’s much more common in the US and I was ‘converted’ a long time ago. Funny that I posted a buttermilk scone today too- the summer has indeed deserted us.
    Anne

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment