You Don’t Need To Go To Devon For An English Cream Tea…

The sun finally decided to say hello again today, so what else was there to do, other than throw the windows open and make a yummy batch of classic scones?!

This is my go-to recipe whenever I need to make something relatively quick but more than satisfying. If I’m feeling particularly fancy, I might throw in some sultanas or raspberries – but today I was feeling very lazy and very peckish.

For those of you who don’t live in England, or haven’t visited, or have somehow managed to go through life without experiencing a good ol’ afternoon cream tea….. well you haven’t experienced life to the full…. Seriously…. Go bake these now, you won’t be disappointed. And if you have experienced the joy of smothering your scone with strawberry jam and clotted cream, well then I hope this inspires you to take a break and go bake some – similar to bread, nothing beats the smell of fresh scones or pastries in the oven, on a sunny spring day!

I also took some time today to explore my garden as I feel as though I’ve missed a lot of the blossom and flowers which seemed to have bloomed ever so quickly this past month. I picked some bluebells, forget-me-nots, wallflowers, aquilegias, rosemary and buttercups. I also photographed (using my super fancy camera) my beautiful Maigold Rose, and various other colours that caught my eye.

Enjoy! 🙂

Classic Scones (makes around 10)

75g unsalted butter, chilled and cut into cubes

350g self-raising flour

1 ½ tsp baking powder

30g caster sugar

100ml milk

2 large eggs

  1. Preheat the oven to 220 degrees and lightly grease your baking trays
  2. Mix the flour and baking powder, then rub (using your fingertips) the butter in, until it resembles fine breadcrumbs
  3. Stir in the sugar and pour in 100ml of milk along with the eggs (saving a little for later). Mix together, adding more milk if necessary
  4. Turn the dough out onto a lightly floured surface, lightly kneading for 1 minute until gathers together
  5. Roll and pat out, cutting as many rounds as possible from the first rolling (I used a 2 inch cutter) Keep rolling out until you have used the dough
  6. Brush the tops of the scones with the reserved egg and bake for around 10 minutes or until golden
  7. Remove and cool on a wire rack – serve with clotted cream and jam, with a cup of Yorkshire tea!

IMG_8249

IMG_6766

IMG_8252

IMG_8258

IMG_8266

DSCF2878

IMG_8271

IMG_8294

IMG_8302

Here are some lovely flowers in the garden:

DSCF2863

DSCF2867

DSCF2869

DSCF2868

DSCF2872

4 thoughts on “You Don’t Need To Go To Devon For An English Cream Tea…

Leave a Reply

