It’s Strawberry Season!

Strawberry n’ Cream Muffins

I love it when you see crates full of strawberries lining the supermarkets…. it must really be summer. FINALLY!

Last year I made one of my favourite recipes – Strawberry Swirl Cupcakes – and they were delicious; super sweet and super pretty.

I don’t tend to bake with strawberries so much as I think they can be a little too sweet sometimes and don’t always hold together. I use them more for decoration i.e. plonk a strawberry on top of a cheesecake or souffle and it completely transforms the dessert into a beautiful masterpiece. Raspberries and blueberries however have that zing that works well in a lot of muffins, for example my Giant Raspberry & Chocolate Muffins and Gluten Free Chocolate & Blueberry Muffins. (note the chocolate in both these recipes, I think I have a problem?)

However I feel I have been blind to the potential of strawberries and will be baking with them more often…. I’m thinking strawberry and dark chocolate shortbread cookies next?!

Anyway, my Mom needed to take some baked goods to her church and I was nominated to bake some yummy treats. I ended up baking Strawberry n’ Cream Muffins. I had a pack of cream cheese in the fridge almost out of date…. and boy was I glad I used this as a filling. SO moist (especially from the yogurt) and SO tasty (from the fresh strawberries).

Mom came back empty handed……

Strawberry n’ Cream Muffins (makes around 12) 

For the streusel:

60g light brown sugar

60g plain flour

1 tsp cinnamon

50g unsalted butter, cold

For the muffins:

115g unsalted butter, softened

100g granulated sugar

50g light brown sugar

2 eggs

120g natural greek yogurt

1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

220g plain flour

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp bicarbonate of soda

Pinch of salt

Around 150-200g of fresh strawberries (I don’t tend to use frozen as the colour runs)

For the cream filling:

150g cream cheese

1 egg yolk

1 tsp vanilla extract

40g granulated sugar

  1. Preheat oven to 220 degrees. Spray your muffin trays with nonstick spray
  2. Make the streusel: In a small bowl, toss together the brown sugar, flour, and cinnamon. Cut in the butter in very small pieces and mix with a fork until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs
  3. Make the muffins: In a medium bowl beat the softened butter until smooth and creamy. Now add the sugars and beat until creamed. Add the eggs, yogurt, and vanilla extract. Beat until the mixture is completely combined.
  4. In a large bowl, toss together the flour, bicarbonate of soda, baking powder, and salt. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry and slowly mix with a whisk until combined (don’t worry I had a few lumps in my mixture). Finally, fold in the strawberries.
  5. Make the cream filling: In a medium bowl, beat the cream cheese until creamy. Add the egg yolk, vanilla extract, and sugar. Beat until combined
  6. Spoon 1 tablespoon of muffin batter into the muffin cups. Layer with around 1 tablespoon of cream filling, followed by another tablespoon of muffin batter. Sprinkle each muffin with streusel topping and gently press the streusel down into the muffin so it sticks
  7. Bake the muffins for 5 minutes at 220 degrees and then lower the temperature down to 180 degrees and bake for a further 15 minutes
  8. Allow to cool completely and transfer to wire rack. Be careful as the cream filling makes these muffins very very moist!
  9. I keep my muffins in the fridge for around 5-10 days, giving them a quick 10 second blast in the microwave. So yummy!

IMG_9383

IMG_9384

IMG_9386

IMG_9387

IMG_9389

IMG_9390

IMG_9391

IMG_9394 - Copy

IMG_9396

IMG_9398 - Copy

IMG_9402 - Copy

IMG_9406


3 thoughts on “It’s Strawberry Season!

Leave a Reply

