Zingy Poppy Seed Muffins

After an insanely busy week I am beyond happy it’s the weekend! I’ve missed baking more than I thought I would this week – there are so many eggs in my fridge – usually I’m on a constant mission of hunting eggs down.

The weather here in England has been stunning – hitting the 30 degree mark was pretty good for us – Wilfy looooooves to find a sun pocket to bask in. His coat has transformed into a lovely dark caramel (the hassle of putting doggy sunscreen on his ears is not so enjoyable!). My hair has gone all blonde and my bones finally feel a little warmer after a chilly few months.

Wimbledon is on (summer must be here!) and I’m feeling happy. After a lot of job stress I’m finally back on track with what I really want to be doing with my time…… especially finding time again to bake some yummy treats.

Today it was to be Lemon & Orange Poppy Seed Muffins. It was my first time including poppy seeds in a recipe (hard to believe I know) and I don’t think I will be looking back anytime soon. I absolutely LOVE the crunch they provide to these soft and zingy muffins – as well as the adorable appearance. Don’t even get me started on the flavours – the combination of orange and lemon is so so so so so so so good.

If muffins could ever be pretty – I think these hit the spot.

Have a great weekend everyone! ❤

Lemon & Orange Poppy Seed Muffins (makes around 15)

280g plain flour

90g granulated sugar

60g light brown sugar

3 tablespoons poppy seeds

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 bicarbonate of soda

Pinch of salt

100g unsalted butter, melted

juice and zest of 1 lemon

juice and zest of 1 large orange

2 eggs

130g low fat natural (greek) yogurt

1 tsp vanilla extract

(or you can use vanilla yogurt and omit the extract)

  1. Preheat oven to 220 degrees. Grease your muffin tin
  2. In a large bowl, whisk the flour, sugars, poppy seeds, baking powder, bicarbonate of soda, and salt together until thoroughly mixed
  3. In a medium bowl, whisk the melted butter with the juices and zests. Add the eggs, one at a time, whisking after each addition. Mix in the yogurt and vanilla.
  4. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry and gently mix until no pockets of flour remain. Be careful not to overmix as this batter is sooooooo thick!
  5. Spoon the mixture into the muffin tins, filling them all the way to the top
  6. Bake for 5 minutes at 220 degrees and then reduce the heat to around 180 degres. Bake for a further 8-10 minutes. This is the help them rise quickly at the beginning and then bake thoroughly once the heat has been reduced
  7. Allow to cool on a rack for 10 minutes
  8. These keep fresh in the fridge for around 7 days (with a 10 second blast in the microwave these are simply delicious)

  
  
   

 

Leave a Reply

