The Duke of Banana Bread [with choc chips and a toffee swirl]

We’ve had the Queen of the Brownies and the King of the Cookies; now it’s time for another recipe to be crowned into my royal hall of BEST RECIPES EVER!

Seriouslyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy amazinggggggggggggggggg – I’m slurring my words because I’m munching on a slice right now – I’m in heaven.

img_9296

I’ve made a lot of banana bread in my time (it’s one of my all time favourite things in the whole entire world and universe and galaxy) but I genuinely think I have found THE ONE. Using a base recipe (inspired by my favourite baker as always – Sally) you have a classic moist banana bread…. and then it just gets completely transformed into a party of sweetness, with a swirl of my delicious toffee sauce (used in some of my favourite recipes: Cappuccino Cake & Oatmeal Cream Pies) and some dark chocolate chips.

IMG_0209

IMG_0212

IMG_0213

IMG_0215

img_9253

img_9254

You can tweek this and really go wild, adding a cinnamon swirl, nutella, white chocolate and so on. You can omit the chocolate chips or add milk rather than dark. You can add fruit such as raspberries and create an icing glaze. As long as you get the balance right sweetness wise (don’t go too overboard as you don’t want to overpower the amazing banana flavour that shines through), you are off and away with one of the best tasting banana breads you can possibly imagine.

img_9256

img_9257

img_9259

img_9280

img_9292

I absolutely adore the addition of yogurt, creating a smooth and moist texture yet in keeping with a typically dense fruit cake. I used natural plain yogurt (and added a little vanilla essence separately – however you can use vanilla yogurt and just omit the added essence)

You don’t need an obscene amount of butter or sugar in this recipe (thumbs up all round!) as the bananas and yogurt provide that delicious sweet flavour we all crave in a fruit loaf or cake.

  img_9287

img_9293

Using brown sugar is becoming an issue for me these days – I seem to go through a 1kg pack a week – I think I have a problem? Yes, I’m considering therapy. Seriously though, I’m addicted to that dark grain and stickiness you only get with brown sugar.

It’s soooooooooooooooooooo easy to make you’ll be shocked. And of course as I love to tell you all, I love love love using up overripe bananas leftover in my kitchen.

Bananas, cinnamon and chocolate are my weaknesses. If you want me to do anything, dangle a banana in front of my eyes whilst flicking cinnamon and melted chocolate into my mouth and I’ll be all yours.

Attractive!

ENJOY 🙂

img_9295

Toffee Swirl Choc Chip Banana Bread 

250g plain flour

¾ tsp bicarbonate of soda

Pinch of salt

1 tsp cinnamon

100g light brown sugar

60g unsalted butter

2 eggs

3 medium sized bananas, mashed

80g plain or vanilla yogurt

1 tsp vanilla essence

60g chocolate chips, saving some for the top (I used dark)

For the Toffee Swirl:

Melt around 25g butter and stir in 55g dark brown sugar. Bring to the boil and boil for around 2 minutes, stirring constantly. Remove from the heat and gradually add 2 tbsp milk, stirring all the while. Return to the heat and bring to the boil again. Remove and allow to cool for around 5 minutes. Stir in around 40g icing sugar and beat until smooth. Add more icing sugar/milk accordingly.

  1. Preheat the oven to 180 degrees and grease your loaf tin
  2. In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, bicarbonate of soda, salt, and cinnamon
  3. In a separate large bowl, beat the sugar and butter together. Add the eggs one at a time, beating well each time. Now stir in the mashed banana, yogurt, and vanilla
  4. Gradually add the dry ingredients – IMPORTANT – don’t overmix, otherwise you will ned up with a really dense cake!
  5. Spoon half the mixture into your loaf tin. Add your layer of desired sauce (I used toffee, you can use cinnamon, chocolate, Nutella etc) Now add the rest of your mixture, and using a knife, swirl your mixture in a figure of 8, allowing some of the toffee to come up to the top. For appearance, I sprinkled the remaining choc chips on the top, with a little coarse cinnamon sugar.
  6. Bake for around 20 minutes uncovered, and then place some foil over your loaf (to keep it from burning on the top) Bake for another 25-30 minutes and remove from the oven to cool completely
  7. I like to refrigerate my bread to help keep it fresh and then warm a slice up in the microwave for around 10 seconds – AMAZING!
3 thoughts on “The Duke of Banana Bread [with choc chips and a toffee swirl]

Leave a Reply

