Playing around with Courgette… or Zucchini

I am simply in love with courgettes. They are by far my favourite vegetable…. I could eat them all day every day. Can you eat them raw? I’m going to go try….

SO TASTY!

A healthy substitute for pasta (no bloating yay!), Mediterranean roasted veg, fresh summer salad; I throw them in everything these days, even cupcakes. So today is centred around courgette cupcakes. I did a little research, mainly on other blogs and pinterest, as I didn’t trust any old recipe. I love looking at other bloggers’ pictures and reading their own suggestions. I love picking out particular flavours and creating different depths and textures.

Lime, lemon, cheese and other ingredients such as carrot, apple and nuts, all stood out to me.

I had to be careful what I added (baking for my boyfriend is always a little special – working my way around the Fodmap diet!) so although I made mine relatively plain, you can tweek your flavours to taste.

Expect more of these soon 🙂

Courgette Cupcakes (makes around 18)

200g light muscovado sugar

180ml rapeseed oil (or any other flavourless oil)

2 large eggs

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

200g plain flour

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda

1 tsp ground cinnamon

250g grated courgette

Optional:

Zest of lime
1/2 tsp ground ginger
1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
60g chopped walnuts, almonds, sultanas

For the frosting:

300g half-fat cream cheese

50g icing sugar

The juice of 2 limes

(I used my vanilla frosting from my Cappuccino Cake recipe – I couldn’t m=find any dairy free cream cheese in time!)

  1. Preheat the oven to 170 degrees and line your muffin tin with cases
  2. Mix together the sugar and eggs, following with the oil and vanilla essence, until combined
  3. Sift in the flour, baking powder, bicarbonate of soda and any spices you desire. Mix until just combined (you don’t want to overwork as you will end up with really dense muffins)
  4. Stir in your grated courgettes and any nuts/fruit desired
  5. Divide mixture between cases and bake for around 20 minutes, until the tops spring back
  6. For the frosting, mix all of the ingredients together until light and fluffy (adding as much lime juice needed to wet the mixture) and spread or pipe (if you’re fancy!) onto your cakes
  7. Sit back and enjoy – and don’t feel too guilty – these aren’t too unhealthy!

  

                

One thought on “Playing around with Courgette… or Zucchini

Leave a Reply

