Insanely Healthy Protein Flapjacks (gluten, dairy, sugar & (almost) fat FREE)

This is quite a momentous post for me….

I’m going to be honest and say that I have never been the biggest fan of flapjacks. I found that they took forever to chew, were usually dry and never actually included any ingredients that I actually liked. Haters gonna hate!

However my boyfriend made a tray around a year ago, packed it full of banana, golden syrup and chocolate, and I was absolutely blown away. I loved them so much and found that I could munch on one and feel completely satisfied afterwards. They were super moist (because of the banana) and super sweet (because of the syrup) and of course packed with my favourite thing on this planet – chocolate!

So I’ve been making these quite regularly – and they really satisfy my sweet tooth – click here for my sugar and fat filled goodies!

Now look away if you don’t want to see the healthier versions….

I decided last week that with all this baking, I needed to reel myself in a little, and remember that life shouldn’t actually revolve around chocolate (it kinda does though doesn’t it?!). I wanted to make something that I could feel less guilty afterwards – but still tasty enough to want to eat.

After I was ill last year, my taste buds completely changed and I totally love oats and fruit these days. So I had a bit of a *light bulb* moment and realised that I would actually probably enjoy flapjacks that included things like raisins and apricots, when a few years ago I would have wrinkled my nose and professed my hatred.

Of course I couldn’t not include bananas (my favourite fruit to bake with), so after experimenting with a few recipes, I decided on this one.

It’s gluten-free, dairy-free, sugar-free, more-or-less fat free, and packed with fruit, seeds and oats – they are basically bursting with protein so ideal for a pre or post workout snack.

*flax seeds* seem to be the buzz ingredient these days and every time I’ve seen anyone talk about it, I’ve rolled my eyes and ignored the boring ‘health freaks’. However after conducting a little research I realised that brown linseed or commonly known as flax seeds are great for IBS or IBD sufferers. Ding ding ding – Gavin, Mom and myself are all sufferers – so off I hopped to the supermarket to buy some (I bought the supermarket range rather than any brand stuff – it’s deathly expensive!) and hope to see possible benefits soon 🙂

Sooooooooo – if you need a good fix of protein and energy, these flapjacks really do hit the spot. Using mashed banana and grated apple glues the mixture together (therefore reducing the amount of fat needed) and the honey adds a subtle sweet taste (don’t even get me started on honey – I think it’s one of the most underrated things out there – as long as you get 100% natural stuff, a spoonful of honey a day definitely keeps the doctor away).

Of course, after all this, I still had to grate a teeny weeny bit of dark chocolate over the top (oops!) I just couldn’t resist. But hey, dark chocolate isn’t that bad for you is it?!

ENJOY! ❤

Protein Flapjacks (makes around 12 slices)

40g butter (I use soya)

2 tbsp honey

2 ripe bananas, mashed

1 apple, peeled and grated

40g apricots, chopped

40g raisins

250g rolled oats (I use gluten-free)

30g flax seed (brown linseed)

Dark chocolate, for grating (optional of course)

  1. Preheat the oven to 140 degrees and line your tin with greaseproof paper
  2. Melt the butter and honey in a small pan. Add the banana, apple and 100ml hot water and mix
  3. Mix the oats, dried fruit and seeds in a large bowl and pour in the wet mixture until everything is coated.
  4. Tip into your tin, levelling your surface, and grate over a little dark chocolate (this is completely optional – I’m just a sucker for chocolate) and place in the oven for around 1 hour.
  5. Remove from oven and leave to cool in the tin before cutting into slices. Store in the fridge for best results.

                      

6 thoughts on “Insanely Healthy Protein Flapjacks (gluten, dairy, sugar & (almost) fat FREE)

  1. Amanda B. says:

    Sometimes you just need a bar of chocolate and some baked goods 🙂 I totally understand! But these healthy flapjacks look delicious! I will have to give them a try 🙂 Thanks for sharing

    Like

Leave a Reply

