Millionaire’s Caramel Krispie Square Madness!

IT’S FRIDAY!

Friday and the weekend in sight calls for one thing, and one thing only…. special baking treats and celebration!

This weekend was a traybake of course. I do love my traybakes (Malteser Buns, Oreo Truffle Brownies & Mini Egg Rocky Roads) and it would be hard to choose which would make my number 1 hot spot, but I think these Millionaire Caramel Krispie Squares have come very very close to it.

Although traybakes take a little time, making the various layers separately and doing sometimes fiddly bits and bobs, they pay off BIG TIME! They last for ages (I usually chill them) and are so yummy to nibble on for an energy boost. They are great to share around with guests – I’ve made these for my Grandad who has been in and out of hospital this week – they are perfect to throw in a little box and take with you anywhere.

I love Millionaire Caramel Shortbread, however since I recently made a big batch of shortbread, I wanted something different…. boy was I glad when I switched to rice krispies!

You can use up your old cereal lying at the back of the cupboard (great!) and create something so mouth watering-ly delicious.

I also kinda like how you can have breaks after each section is finished and sit back whilst they are cooling in the fridge – it breaks up the baking process, rather than an intense hour or two of solid baking. Also, no oven is involved – bonus- no constant checking and worrying about temperatures!

These are seriously amazing – I made them yesterday and let me tell you, there are not that many left!

Enjoy your weekends all 🙂

Millionaire’s Caramel Krispie Squares

For the base:

30g butter

150g marshmallows

90g rice krispies

For the caramel:

397g condensed milk

100g dark brown sugar

80g butter

2 tbsp golden syrup (I used Butterscotch syrup – just to spice it up a bit!)

Pinch of salt

For the topping:

150g chocolate of your choice (I used milk)

Squirt of golden syrup

  1. To make the base: Grease and line your baking tin with grease proof paper
  2. Melt the butter and marshmallows in a pan, stirring frequently until everything has melted (this may take a little patience)
  3. Add the rice krispies and mix until thoroughly coated. Working quickly, tip the mixture into the baking tin and press it firmly down so that it is level (I used a sheet of grease proof paper – it does get rather sticky but keep with it!) Set aside to cool for around 30 minutes
  4. To make the caramel:Put all of the caramel ingredients into a pan set over a medium heat. Stir frequently until the sugar has dissolved
  5. No turn up the heat slightly and boil gently stirring frequently. To test whether it is ready, you can drop a small amount of the caramel into some chilled water – it should form a firm ball that does not flatten when removed, but squishes when squeezed. It will also take on a much darker, ticker consistency
  6. Take the pan off the heat and place the bottom of it into cold water to stop the cooking process. Set aside and allow to cool for 10 minutes
  7. Stir well, then pour over the cooled base. Place in the fridge for around 2 hours until set.

Finally, melt the chocolate and spread over the caramel layer. Again, place in the fridge for at least 2 hours, allowing it to set before removing and cutting into your squares (I actually left it over nightbefore cutting – I also used a warm knife to help prevent the chocolate layer cracking)          DSCF2687 DSCF2689 DSCF2690 DSCF2701 IMG_8154 IMG_8164 IMG_8166

Leave a Reply

