BIG FRIENDLY GIANTS: Jumbo Raspberry Chocolate Muffins!

FAVOURITE RECIPE ALERT!

One of my favourite memories involves my Mom surprising me at my front door one day during my finals at university. I remember it was a warm day, I’d woken up at 6:30am as usual, showered, dressed, had breakfast at 7am, and sat down to work at my desk. I’d have a fruity snack at around 9, a little fruit smoothie at 10 and lunch at 12. My life revolved around reading, writing, planning, memorising, and food. My housemate and I would run into each others rooms excited that we could finally allow ourselves to have a break and eat… and have a good gossip about how we were destined to fail… and then maybe watch an episode or two of one of our favourite programmes in the evening to treat ourselves (this was to be my ritual for around a month and a half).

Throughout this period I was suffering from my recent diagnosis of CMV and a post-viral fatigue type syndrome, thus I was back and forth to the doctors every other week (usually in a taxi as I would be too exhausted to walk) for blood tests and more or less counselling sessions with my lovely doctor. I was advised by my dissertation tutor that I should probably consider dropping out and re-taking my final year when I was better. But I powered on through and managed to finish all my written work – now I just had to make it through finals – easier said than done – so close to the end yet so far away!

So there were good days and bad days. I got through it with help from my boyfriend who lived close by and of course my loving housemate Poe (who I ended up travelling with for 3 months later on of that year!) but some days I just really needed my Mommy.

ANYWAY! I got a call from my Mom sounding slightly weird, saying there would be someone at the door in the next few minutes and I needed to answer it as she’d sent something to cheer me up. It wouldn’t be the first time she’d sent flowers or something sweet in the post. After around 5 minutes I heard our very loud doorbell ring, so off I ran down the stairs nervous and excited, ready to receive something nice from the postman……

Low and behold – there was my Mommy standing on my doorstep – I literally broke down in tears (I’m not the biggest crier in the world) and actually wouldn’t let her in for around 5 minutes as I was too much in shock! Eventually I let her in and we sat on my bed for a few hours that afternoon – she sat and read her book whilst I did some work and then she helped me memorise important things – and finally she whipped out some jumbo muffins she’d made the day before.

I don’t know why this memory has stayed with me – maybe it was because I was just so surprised to see her and really needed her in that moment – or maybe it was because her muffins were so damn tasty!

But I can still taste them and remember thinking that I could actually make it through okay – if only I could have one of her muffins every day as a treat!

I was reminiscing about this a few days ago and decided I would attempt to make some. We have a special baking pan from the Pampered Chef Stoneware range which my Mom swears by, and which we usually make giant Yorkshire puddings in. But this actually doubles up perfectly as a giant muffin pan.

So expect more of these – I am obsessed – extremely chocolatey ones are next on my agenda…

ENJOY!

Jumbo Raspberry Chocolate Muffins (makes 6)

375g plain flour (I use gluten-free)

4 tsp baking powder (yes you read it right – you need this to help them rise!)

Pinch of sea salt

1 tsp cinnamon

2 eggs

150g granulated sugar

50g light brown sugar

240ml milk (I use soya)

120ml vegetable oil

1 tsp vanilla extract

50g dark chocolate

50g white chocolate

100g fresh raspberries

Cinnamon sugar to decorate

  1. Preheat the oven to 220 degrees and spray your muffin pan with non-stick spray
  2. Mix together the flour, baking powder, salt and cinnamon
  3. In a separate bowl, whisk together the eggs, and both types of sugar. Add the milk, oil and vanilla extract
  4. Fold the wet ingredients into the dry and mix together with a wooden spoon (make sure not to over mix as this with produce dense muffins!)
  5. Fold in the chocolate and raspberries
  6. Spoon into the pan (fill right to the top!) and place in the oven. Bake at 220 degrees for 5 minutes and then reduce the temperature to around 180 degrees and bake for a further 25 minutes
  7. Leave to cool before removing – I love to heat these up for a few seconds after a few days, they are so tasty!

  

In this particular batch I also added some dark chocolate with raspberry bits in it (just to make sure they were extra dark and fruity!) – this was Portuguese chocolate we bought back from Madeira 🙂

      

And here’s a cute little picture of me and my Mom….

IMG_1264

*inspired by Sally’s Baking Addiction*

7 thoughts on “BIG FRIENDLY GIANTS: Jumbo Raspberry Chocolate Muffins!

  1. Jodi says:

    soooooooo many things to love about this post lilyjoyg! first that surprise visit from your mom and then the ending photo – smiles from beginning to end. Then there is CHOCOLATE, RASPBERRY and GIANT MUFFINS! Overloaded LOVE! I recently made raspberry chocolate chip cookies and posted on my blog – not sure if you saw – but they are AMAZING! Muffins – however, I cannot pass up! I love baking on stoneware also! THREE CHEERS for everything about this blog cutie! Thanks for all the smiles.

    Like

Leave a Reply

