Pesto Pasta with Peas, Spinach & Broccoli

*recipe inspired by DeliciouslyElla*

I was doing my general round on Instagram, looking at pretty pictures of food, and I came across DeliciouslyElla. I loved her pictures and recipes and followed her immediately.

Anyway it came to making dinner and all I saw in the fridge was green green green. My mind went back to a dish I saw on Instagram and boy was I thankful. For once I had all the ingredients I needed – and a quick and simple dish I’d never made before!

I felt SO healthy eating it – I mean you can’t get any better that pesto, peas, spinach and broccoli. The lemon really added to the citrus flavour, and it’s so easy to whip up for a veggie friend.

Leftovers taste just as yummy cold the next day.

ENJOY!

Pesto Pasta with Peas, Spinach & Broccoli (serves 4)

For the pesto

100g pine nuts

200ml olive oil

Handful of fresh basil

1 clove garlic

2 lemons

Sea salt and black pepper

For the pasta

80g pasta per person

200g frozen garden peas

100g spinach

1 floret broccoli

1 lemon

  1. Tear all the basil leaves off their stems, juice the lemons and peel the garlic
  2. Place all these with the other pesto ingredients into a food processor and blend until smooth and creamy
  3. Place the pasta and the peas into a saucepan with boiling water and cook for around 15 minutes. Then cook the broccoli for around 5 minutes
  4. Drain the pasta and the peas, then place them back into the saucepan along with the pesto, spinach and brocolli
  5. Cook everything together on a low heat until the pesto is warm and the spinach has wilted
  6. Finally squeeze the juice of the last lemon over the pasta and season to your taste
  7. Sprinkle with some parmesan cheese and enjoy with a fresh salad and warm ciabatta bread!

      

Leave a Reply

