The King of Desserts: Baked Alaska

So… what I want to know is who’s up for this challenge?!

Watch out guys… once you fall into the trap of attempting a Baked Alaska, you get addicted to eating it, addicted to making it and then addicted to changing and tweaking it constantly, adding new flavours and textures and just getting really really inventive!

When I realised how to master this one, I just couldn’t stop making it. And when we were all too stuffed to eat any more, I started freezing it and turning into one of those horrid people who eat things out of a tub, with a spoon, in front of Downton Abbey… heaven.

It seemed pretty daunting when I looked up how to make it, and the first few times I definitely needed another pair of hands just to hand me spoons, ingredients, tea towels and just a word of support – you can do this!

So here I am telling you – you can do this too!

I love the fact that you can make the sponge a day or two before you want to make the Baked Alaska. I like the idea that I don’t feel too guilty buying delicious tubs of ice cream, rather than panicking over making it myself – going through the whole custard, heating etc stress. And I love how easy making meringue is, as long as you get the peaks stiff…. GET THE PEAKS STIFF (you’ve gotta keep chanting this to yourself)

I also love the excitement of spreading the meringue over the pyramid of ice cream before it starts to warm! It’s so so so quick and it bakes in even less time. Just make sure there are no gaps when you spread the meringue over, otherwise the ice cream will melt out in the oven.

I love when you cut a slice and all the layers look pretty damn perfect and you feel pretty damn proud at the fact that you actually made this yourself – and even when you take your first bite, the sensation of hot and cold is just insane (yes i’m starting to sound a little like one of the M&S adverts).

I just really really love this one! So because it involves a little preparation and various layers I’ve included some advice and sections to help you through it.

Let me know how it goes guys!

Baked Alaska (depending on how greedy you are – it usually serves around 5 people)


What you need

Sponge cake (I’ve included a vanilla sponge but you can switch this for a chocolate sponge)

Ice cream (I like to use vanilla and fruit flavoured ice cream with the vanilla sponge, or a chocolate and sweet flavour with a chocolate sponge)

Fruit jam or Chocolate spread

Fresh fruit such as strawberries, raspberries or blueberries (or chocolate buttons)

Meringue

A baking tray and a hot oven!


What you need to make

For The Sponge:

100g caster sugar

100g softened butter

2 eggs, beaten

100g self-raising flour

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp vanilla essence

  1. Preheat the oven to 190 degrees and grease your tin
  2. In a bowl, beat all the cake ingredients together until you have a smooth, soft batter
  3. Spoon mixture into tin and bake for 15-20 minutes
  4. Remove from the oven and leave to cool on a rack

For The Meringue:

3 eggs whites

175g caster sugar

  1. Whisk the egg whites in a bowl until stiff peaks form when the whisk is removed
  2. Slowly whisk in the sugar and continue to whisk until glossy and very stiff peaks form

 How to assemble the dreaded Baked Alaska (it’s not too bad don’t worry!)

  • Firstly whack the oven on full blast
  • Place the sponge on a baking tray and spread the jam/chocolate spread over
  • Arrange scoops of ice cream in a pyramid shape on top – place the fresh fruit/chocolate buttons all along the pyramid of ice cream
  • Spoon the meringue all over the ice cream – make sure there are no gaps! Use the back of a spoon to make a swirl pattern (try and complete this as fast as you can, as the ice cream will start to melt)
  • Turn the oven down to 200 degrees and bake for 8-10 minutes, or until golden-brown all over
  • Sit back and enjoy the amazing combination of hot and cold – serve with fresh fruit and coulis or a hot chocolate sauce!

IMG_5709

This was my first attempt – as you can see I didn’t put any jam in between the sponge and ice cream layer which led to it separating a little – thus I would recommend a layer of spread or fruit to act almost like a glue

IMG_5894

Second attempt – didn’t quite create the ‘swirl effect’ I wanted but still looking yummy!

IMG_5896

I only used one flavour of ice cream with this attempt – creating a simple taste!

IMG_6054

IMG_6057

IMG_6058

This time worked out SO well – although I forgot to put the fruit actually in the pudding!

IMG_5966

A mini baked alaska never hurt anyone!

IMG_6056

SO TASTY!

3 thoughts on “The King of Desserts: Baked Alaska

Leave a Reply

