Summer Morning Juice

Morning!

So every morning I wake up, go downstairs, search through my cupboard of cereal, and have a good long think about what I fancy for breakfast. I’m one of those awful people who mix their cereal together, mainly healthy and fruity with a bit of sweet or chocolate. This usually happens between 7-8am.

By 10 or 11 I am starving. I walk my whippet Wilfy usually 3 times a day, but the early morning walk is the crucial one. We run about in the field, fresh with energy (yes I’m also one of those awful morning people). So I am always in search of something that will keep me fuller for longer.

Porridge of course is a winner, that will come later on in my blog do not worry! But one of the only other things I find satisfying is fruit – and a lot of it.

Last summer, my dad bought a juicer. It looks more like a spaceship, but somehow you can put a whole piece of whatever fruit you fancy in a little sucker tube thingy – and hey presto it squirts fresh fruit juice at you (on many occasion I have forgotten to put a jug under the squirty thingy and let me tell you that has ended in a very messy disaster!).

It became a bit of an obsessive thing, find as much fruit as possible, throw it in the sucky tube thingy and watch in awe as it literally uses every bit of the fruit (no waste) and produces your morning juice for you! In the summer we’d go pick whatever fruit was in season, and then buy a few pineapples, melons, mangoes etc. to bulk it out, and just go juice crazy!

So here are a few pictures of the fruit we picked from the field, and some of the juices I created.

Trust me they are tasty!

(if you don’t have a juicer don’t worry, a smoothie is definitely (almost) as good, you just have to peel and stone the fruit, whereas with this magic juicer you only have to remove large stones – and it’s a lot juicier – your smoothie with be considerably thicker)

 IMG_0905

IMG_0167

IMG_0174

IMG_1254

 Wilfy loved helping us pick the fruit and tried to eat most of it (he’s also a massive poser)

IMG_1265

IMG_1267

IMG_3170

IMG_3179

The Green-y looking juice:

4 kiwis

2 apples

2 pears

Handful of green grapes

The Pink-y looking juice:

Handful of blackberries

Handful of raspberries

4 apples

Other suggestions:

2 oranges, half pineapple, half mango

half cantaloupe melon, 2 apples, 2 pears

handful of cranberries, 1 grapefruit

handful of blueberries and raspberries, half watermelon

One thought on “Summer Morning Juice

Leave a Reply

